top of page
Search
  • Tiffany Haug, MS, RDN, EDOC

13 WOMEN SPEAK: This is what warms my heart.


I'm gonna say it.

The Holiday season can feel so empty.

The hubbub of gift buying and traveling to see family and loved ones—all great things,

but I find myself craving something deeper.

And for those of us who are not going to be spending the Holidays with family, it can feel very sad.

You are not alone.

I am not sure whether this is unique to me, but I would sometimes rather carry on as if this was not a special time of the year. I would rather enjoy each day as it comes and not feel pressure to be a brighter and cheerier version of myself for these couple of months just because

"It's the most happiest time of the yearrrrrrr."

This is why I wanted to come back to a place of remembering the things that truly bring me joy—regardless of the season. Not the things that bring me happiness —because joy and happiness are two different things in my book. While joy is a sense of warmth, peace, and purpose that circumvents circumstances or seasons of life, happiness is far more circumstantial.

In the spirit of the JOY of this season and every season, I reached out to my amazing friends and colleagues to ask what warms THEIR hearts.

My heart was fed by their responses:

 

What warms my heart is witnessing courage. My brave clients who continue to move on through adversity and pain that life can throw at us. They are THE most incredible human beings and I am ever so inspired by them. Even thinking of it makes me teary. Seeing someone who has been at the end of their rope and had the courage to rise and still show up for each day—what an honor to witness it."

Tiffany Haug, MS, RDN, EDOC

Nutrition Therapist specialized in Eating Disorders

San Diego, CA

 

What warms my heart is being hugged by my husband and little boy. Life can be so noisy and hard, when it comes to what people expect from me as a mom and woman. Their smiles and love remind me of what is important and that I am enough.

Christin Morgan, MS, RD

Dearborn, MI

 

What warms my heart is true, authentic connection with other humans. Observing it, like watching people who are in love, or being a part of it, like when you get a true moment of connection in session with a client who hasn’t felt safe to show who they really are to anyone, perhaps ever. It is human emotion and relationships make this life feel purposeful to me.

-Sumner Brooks, MPH, RDN, LD

Dietitian, Nutrition Therapist, Author, Speaker

Portland, Oregon

 

It warms my heart to see people being brave, whatever that means to them. My 6 year old meeting his Year 1 teacher for the first time, my client fronting up for family Christmas dinner after a year of hard work in Eating Disorder recovery, my awesome Non Diet colleagues speaking up and taking risks in the workplace. We can't make progress as humans without uncertainty and risk, both of which require courage....

Fiona Sutherland, APD, RYT

Founder of The Mindful Dietitian, CoDirector of Body Positive Australia, Sports Dietitian at The Australian Ballet School

Melbourne, Australia

 

What warms my heart the most are people who believe in other people. When they take the time to form meaningful relationships that create positive change in others, because they believe everyone deserves the chance to seek the life they want.

Monica Mo, Founder & CEO at WellSeek

San Diego, CA

 

What warms my heart is seeing people living their truth, standing in their spotlight fearlessly and sharing their gifts with the world. It warms my heart to see people supporting one another, despite the differences they may hold, with the intention of working toward a greater good. It gives my life purpose and meaning to help others develop self-compassion, be proud of the values they hold, and live a more fulfilled life.

- Haley Goodrich RD, LDN

Pittsburgh, PA

 

What warms my heart is being at the beach or someplace unexpected, having neighbors over, being in a community (which is hard), talking to people that I am not like; this is what life is about.

Emily Kee, MS, RDN, LDN, EDOC

Milwaukee, WI

 

What warms my heart is courage and kindness. Courage is the ability to say, "I don't know" or "I need help" Courage, despite the typical depictions, is not fierce, but accepting. It is accepting that we are limiting and that is okay. It is accepting that we don't have to "know it all". Courage is present in each and every one of our clients. Seeing courage and meeting it with kindness is the practice. Seeing courage (which is often presented as fear, unknowing and confusion) and meeting it with non-judgment, witnessing and if possible kindness is so beautiful to watch!

Megrette Fletcher, M.Ed., RD, CDE

Author, Cofounder of The Center for Mindful Eating

Boston, MA

 

Empathy and compassion are so important, and the cornerstone of meaningful relationships and interactions with others. We are all human and we all have different experiences that have defined and shaped us. To be empathetic is to be understanding and caring and curious to learn more about another. When people embody empathy and understanding, it warms my heart as a reminder that connection is so meaningful and important.

Kathleen Meehan MS, RD, LDN

Houston, TX

 

What warms my heart is knowing that something I've said or done for someone has positively impacted their lives so much that they pass it on to others. This ripple effect is what makes the world a better place.

Michelle Vina Baltsas, Intuitive Eating Counselor

New York, NY

 

What warms my heart is having the privilege to see people rediscover their authentic self. To be a part of their recovery journey is an honor. When you get that moment(s) with them when they find how awesome they are, how they deserve to take up space, eat foods for pleasure, and say no to diet talk, it's pretty special.

Edith Schreckengast, MS, RDN, LD, CSSD

Pittsburgh, PA

 

What warms my heart is seeing people serve one another in a genuine ways, however large or small. Being generous in various ways creates gratitude for the giver and receiver, offers the reminder that we're all in this together, and has the ability to inspire others to do the same.

Samantha Lewandowski, MS, RD, LD

Columbia, MD

 

What warms my heart is seeing the goodness of others come out in simple times, you never know what kinds of battles others are fighting and the least expected times are always the best. Also, being able to return home or reconnect with friends and feel like we have never left, makes it all worthwhile.

Chloe Davis, MS, RD, LDN, CSN

Boston, MA


158 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Dear Eating Disorder Dietitian, What IS my healthy weight?

Dear Reader, This is an age old question and I know it feels so important. I'm sincerely sorry for all the answers you’ve been given to this question in the past that have led you to believe the answe

bottom of page